Quality Committee

The Quality Committee is responsible for developing, implementing and maintaining a system for quality assurance and control for the institute. The system is aimed at supporting and improving the research process. Moreover, the Quality Committee advises the EMGO+ executive board on quality issues. To fulfil its tasks the quality committee audits research projects, maintains and expands a web-based quality manual and provides personal introductions to all newly appointed researchers within the institute.

In 2015 the Quality Committee has audited fifteen research projects. The quality officer has given 41 personal introductions in proper scientific conduct for newly appointed investigators with a focus on privacy, medical ethical committee, experimental log books, data organization and back-up, and the guidelines in the quality manual guidelines most directly relevant to the individual researcher. Four incidents of possible violations of privacy protection were reported to the quality officer, all of which have been handled through the appropriate channels.

To stimulate the use of the quality handbook, it was completely restyled and transferred to  a modern content management system. Special attention was given to make relevant guidelines easier to find for a researcher. The structure of the guidelines was also changed, to explicit the requirements, responsibilities and documentation. 

The quality committee consists of a representation of various professions, programs and departments of the institute. The members are:

Agnes Willemen, PhD (Chair)

Wim Kraan, MSc

Hilde van der Aa, MSc

Pauline Slottje, PhD

Mirjam Stuij, MSc

Anne Loyen, MSc

Helma IJzelenberg, PhD

Maaike Huijsmans, PhD

Michel Paardekooper, PhD (quality officer)

Thomas Wieringga, MSc (junior quality officer)


Go to Quality Handbook